Never Too Far

Often I meet people who tell me that at one time in their lives they were walking with God but they wandered away. They believe they have gone too far into their sinful lifestyles to be able to restore their relationship with the Lord and come back to living for Him. The lie the enemy fools them with is that God has shut the door and locked them out.

Whether you are in caught in that kind of thinking or a loved one trapped in believing they have gone too far to come back, I want to encourage you that you can never go so far away from God that He will not extend His mercy and gladly welcome you back.

 Awhile ago I was writing a song about falling when one is working on being set free from an addiction or other sin habit. Part of the song goes, “You see these chains I’m in, and yet Your mercy never ends. This prodigal is always welcomed home.”

 So how do we come back to God after we have wandered off?

James 4:8 says to

Come near to God and he will come near to you.

Too often we can believe the opposite—that if we tried to draw near to God, He would back away. Sometimes this can be because we have people in our lives who do that when we try to apologize or set things right after making wrong choices in our relationships. God will never does that.

I love the following verse which describes God’s eagerness to forgive for a wrong and then supply the grace to do right.

Let us then fearlessly and confidently and boldly draw near to the throne of grace (the throne of God’s unmerited favor to us sinners), that we may receive mercy [for our failures] and find grace to help in good time for every need [appropriate help and well-timed help, coming just when we need it]. Hebrews 4:16 AMP

For years when I messed up or fell down in my spiritual life, I would think I had to straighten myself out first to become worthy enough to go to God. But this is not in line with what the Bible teaches. We can never be worthy enough. That’s what God’s mercy is all about. He gives us what we don’t deserve. We can’t earn it. We can’t achieve it. Our part is to just receive it. It is an amazing thing to think about.

My goal over the years has been to go to God quickly after messing up instead of beating myself up or allowing others to beat me up with shame. But still I can too easily get caught up in self-condemnation.

Today I choose to bask in God’s amazing mercy and extend it to others—even those who seem so far away from God. I have to be reminded sometimes even if they are far away they are never too far.

 Here is a link to a song called “Who You Are” by Unspoken which reminds me of that truth:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d_BLbj5q8_0

To hear more about “Never Too Far,” listen to my radio show, Hearts Set Free with Elaine, on Sunday, November 10 at 9:00am EST. Go to www.wtis1110.com and press “Listen Live.” Or listen later from the archives by going to www.wtis1110.com, clicking on shows, scrolling down to Hearts Set Free and clicking and then going to the bottom right of the page and finding the show. God bless you as you receive all He has for you.

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Never Too Far

  1. It’s nearly impossible to find experienced people about this subject, but you sound
    like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

Leave a Reply

