When The Glory Comes

This past Sunday as I watched the Oscars, I was reminded again of the problem of racism. Most days I try to block it out of my mind.

How this issue must break God’s heart. I was raised in the midst of it and have battled against it–and with God’s help won–in my mind and heart. I feel an ache when I see Christians have poisonous attitudes toward people who have a different color skin. I’ve seen racism lift its ugly head in my Christian circles.

I regularly hear people use the “n” word.

It breaks my heart that it is still often the case that the most integrated places in this country are our churches on Sunday morning.

The good news is that justice will prevail. God knows. God sees. God will make things right.

I fell asleep and missed John Legend and Common singing the song that won the Oscar for “best song.” But since then I’ve listened to it and watched the video many times. The song is “Glory” from the movie, “Selma.”

The phrase from the song that has been playing over and over in my mind is “When the glory comes…”

When I hear that, I think of another song that has the line “mine eyes have seen the glory of the coming of the Lord.”

When the Lord comes.

That’s when everything will be set right—not only in the area of racism—but in every injustice on the face of the earth.

Some days I long for Jesus to come back, especially when I contemplate all the evils of this world.

The Word of God talks about the day Jesus will return:

Then the sign of the Son of Man will appear in the sky, and then all the tribes of the earth will mourn and beat their breasts and lament in anguish, and they will see the Son of Man coming on the clouds of heaven with power and great glory [in brilliancy and splendor]. Matthew 24:30 AMP

Until that day, I continue to ask God, “What can I do to overcome evil with good?”

I can love every person who crosses my path. I can let go of fear and prejudice. I can stop seeing myself as better than other people.

One day when preaching the gospel in the streets of a poverty-stricken, mostly African American area near my home, I saw some men in the street who were high on drugs. A part of me believed I was better than them.

I remembered the verse which says that in humility I should consider others better than myself. (See Philippians 2:3) I asked the Lord at that moment, “How do I do that with these men?”

The answer that came to mind was this: “They are better than you, because you hide your sin.” God gave me words of love to speak to those men that day.

Back then I was a member of one of the churches in that neighborhood and taught Sunday school to the teens there. Those teens had been through so much. As I spent time with them, God gave me a heart of compassion to replace my heart of judgment. They taught me so much about the love of God.

I pray that things will get better when it comes to racism, and in some ways they have. I also pray that all of us will deal with the racism that resides in our hearts. Jesus can heal.

Yet people resist Jesus and loving like Him. And because of hardened, hateful, and unhealed hearts, racism will continue—that is until the day the Lord comes and makes all things right.

I’m looking forward to that day…”when the glory comes.”

Here’s the link to the song “Glory” by John Legend and Common which includes clips from the movie, “Selma.”

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to When The Glory Comes

  1. Lynn Wesolek says:

    powerful as usual, Elaine, thank you.

  2. Delicious says:

    I am in agreement that your prayers will be answered in this life. We all do what we can.

    • Latrisha, thanks for your comment. My desire is to pray more diligently for this troubled world, so more will come to Christ. God does answer prayers, although not usually in my way and in my time.

Leave a Reply

