Fighting the Good Fight

This life is a battle ground—not a playground.

I confess my heart often wants to reject that statement, which I’ve heard from many preachers over the years.

Fighting. I hate it. I don’t want to do it—even though I get dragged into it on a regular basis followed by this proclamation from me: “I don’t want to fight.”

The truth is I’m called to fight.

Lately I’m realizing there’s good fighting and bad fighting.

Bad fighting is when I contend with those in my life who reject me, disrespect me and resist the Lord, and I use their methods to fight back.

Good fighting is when I use the weapons the Lord has given me.

One weapon He’s given is prayer.

Years ago God gave me this truth to deal with times of conflict. “Pray instead of say.”

Too often I want to use words—sometimes harsh words—to straighten out the stinkin’ thinkin’ of those around me. This only makes matters worse, and the bad fighting escalates.

It’s not that I can never say anything, but the key is to say what the Lord leads me to say—not my own “wise” words or words generated from my negative feelings or me desiring to be in control. The good fight is fueled by faith. The bad fight is often fueled by fear.

When I looked up in two sections of Scripture information about this good fight I’m to be engaged in, some truths came forth:

–When I’m in the battle, it’s not my own strength I’m to depend on. It’s His.
–God will teach me to do battle.
–My battle is not against contentious people in my life. It’s against the enemy, Satan.
–My weapons are invisible.
–It’s important to be prepared for battle by putting on my armor.
–It’s vital to stay alert for the enemy’s attacks.
–Standing firm is an important aspect of fighting a spiritual battle.

“Blessed be the Lord, my Rock and my keen and firm Strength, Who teaches my hands to war and my fingers to fight.” (Psalm 144:1 AMP)

“Finally, be strong in the Lord and in the strength of his might. Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the schemes of the devil. For we do not wrestle (recently I wrote about wrestling and rest) against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers over this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places.

Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand firm. Stand therefore, having fastened on the belt of truth, and having put on the breastplate of righteousness, and, as shoes for your feet, having put on the readiness given by the gospel of peace.

In all circumstances take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming darts of the evil one; and take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God, praying at all times in the Spirit, with all prayer and supplication. To that end keep alert with all perseverance…” (Ephesians 6:10-18 ESV)

OK, Lord. I’m accepting it anew. This life is a battle ground. Help me to win these battles I’m facing. Let me use your weapons and not my own. Remind me to depend on Your strength and not mine. And let me keep fighting the good fight until Jesus comes.

This blog was inspired by the song “Good Fight” by Unspoken

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fighting the Good Fight

  1. thornrose7 says:

    Great blog! I’ll repost it one morning this week for you:) Peace, Donna

  2. Theresa says:

    Greatly needed to see this blog. Been battling four at least one year same people. Am finding myself wanting to speak thing from flesh. Prayer and fasting is how my king has taught me to fight and leave it at his feet. He will fight the battle for me. He knows how to hit them where it hurts , I do not knw their weakness like he does. Thank you Lord for the goal of fasting. I love to watch him fight for me.

    • Dear Theresa, thanks for your comment. Prayer and fasting is powerful and helps us to keep our focus on the Lord and not on the people that seem against us. I’m still contemplating the matter of God fighting battles for us. Is this every time? Is it just with people? Does it include battling against the enemy? If He is doing all the fighting then why are we putting on our armour. And aren’t we battling in prayer? I’m going to study this more. He does fight for me, but sometimes it seems He is saying that He will fight through me.

  3. Kim says:

    Hi Elaine! It can be incredibly wearing to constantly be in a mode of fighting–either literal or spiritual. Thankfully, God as provided us with the weapons we need in spiritual warfare. However, we have to learn, that at times God has to fight for us (we can’t exact revenge on someone who “deserves” it).

    Blessings!

    • Dear Kim, I appreciate your comment. The Bible does tell us that God fights battles for us, so it seems vital that we are not fighting in our own strength but allowing the Lord to fight through us and for us. I have to remember that my fight is not against people and to let go of the temptation to seek revenge.

Leave a comment