While I Am Waiting

I heard the song “While I Am Waiting” by John Waller on the Christian music channel on my TV recently.

Once again I thought about how many circumstances in my life involve waiting. I also thought of how far I’ve come in my ability to wait on the Lord without panicking and without feeling that I have to try to speed things up and take matters into my own hands.

Yes, for short periods I slip back into these wrong actions in regard to waiting, but I’m making progress.

As I’ve been thinking again about waiting, I realize that in my waiting I’ve drawn closer to the Lord. I’ve matured. I’ve learned to worship in the waiting and trust God’s timing rather than attempt to get Him to submit to mine.

I can see today that the promise in Isaiah 40:31 is true:

“But those who wait for the Lord [who expect, look for, and hope in Him] shall change and renew their strength and power; they shall lift their wings and mount up [close to God] as eagles [mount up to the sun]; they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint or become tired.” AMP

Another verse comes to mind when I think of waiting is Galatians 6:9, especially since John Waller writes that one of the things we must do while we are waiting is “faint not.”

“And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not.”

Two other things in the song that we are called to do while waiting are serving and worshiping. My mind can say, “I’ll worship God when this waiting is over.” But as I worship Him in the valleys of waiting, joy rises up in me over who He is and all He has done in my life.

In hard times I can be tempted to back off from serving or just go through the motions. At times I try to convince myself I’m not qualified for Christian service because of difficult circumstances in my life that often seem out of control. Surely I should be able to do something to set them right.

I confess I try, but that is not my job. It belongs to God. Yes, I can do what He commands as I wait, but too often I want to command others to change, so circumstances will improve. At times God wants me to wait quietly. At those times I can slip back into thinking I should be doing something.

While working on my book about marriage, I found a quote about waiting that touched me deeply. It was written by G. Campbell Morgan who lived from 1863-1945. He was a British evangelist, preacher, and Bible scholar.

“Waiting for God is not laziness. Waiting for God is not the abandonment of effort. Waiting for God means, first, activity under command; second, readiness for any new command that may come; third, the ability to do nothing until the command is given.”

I continue to pray that I will embrace these truths.

As part of my marriage book I wrote I have a chapter about waiting. I list five things a wife who is waiting for her wounded/wounding husband to change can do. As I reread them I realized these can apply to any kind of waiting.

#1 Keep a journal.
#2 Pray without ceasing.
#3 Develop a grateful heart.
#4 Let God heal your wounds.
#5 Keep your eyes on the Lord.

How wonderful that God gives us assignments while we are waiting. From this song, this poem, and this list He gave me I can achieve much while I’m waiting for prodigals to come home, for loved ones to receive inner healing, for those I’m praying for to be saved, for me to become all God wants me to be, and for what God has called me to write to be published.

How about you? Are you weary of waiting? Remember that You are waiting on the Lord, and He is faithful. A time of reaping and rejoicing will come.

“While I am Waiting” by John Waller

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3gjXBMC8-oM (from Fireproof soundtrack)

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to While I Am Waiting

  1. Sue Thompson says:

    So beautiful & oh so helpful. The Lord gave me an acronym for the word wait just recently. Wait And Intentionally Trust. Blessings😊

  2. Jane Reece says:

    What an encouraging word! Many thanks, Elaine.

Leave a Reply

