Heaven Is Real

Not long ago, I attended a Christian concert where one of the groups, Unspoken, sang their new song about heaven called, “Live on Forever.”

Over and over that song has been going through my mind. I’ve been thinking lots about heaven and how wonderful it’s going to be.

Recently I woke up in the night with these lyrics from the song in my mind: “There’s so much more. There’s so much more.”

One of the reasons I have heaven on my mind is because earth can some days seem like such a dark, depressing place. So God needs to remind me that this is not my home—that my true home is in heaven with Him.

That encourages me.

He also reminds me that this place is so temporary compared to my forever home with Him.

Some people I meet who are suicidal want to hurry on to heaven by taking their own lives.

I myself have battled suicidal thoughts. But the truth that comes to me is that if we endure in this life and make it through holding on to the Lord to make it victoriously through the hard times, the joy of heaven will be so much greater than if we give up either by taking our own lives or by living impotent lives where we just coast through until our final day arrives.

The joy of life here on earth comes not by avoiding hard times or waiting for them to be over so we can once again experience joy, but by living fully and obediently through them. The joy is in obeying and trusting.

I’m determined to live life fully here on earth until my time to go to heaven arrives. My passion is to be all God has called me to be and encourage others to do the same.

Yes, I’m tempted to coast, to give up on being truly alive in Christ, to give in to being a tepid Christian instead of someone on fire for the Lord.

But God in me is helping me to overcome that temptation.

Somehow being reminded of the wonder and glory of heaven makes me want to live better here on this earth. Perhaps it’s because when I think of heaven I remember there are rewards there which are determined by how well we live our lives here on earth—how fully we use the gifts and talents God gave us. If I understand this reward system correctly, any reward we get goes to Christ and honors Him.

In his book, The Heaven Answer Book, Billie Graham states that the word “heaven” is spoken of 622 times in the NIV and 692 times in the KJV. He also says that there are countless other references to being with Jesus that don’t mention the word, “heaven.”

Here are three encouraging verses about heaven.

“Do not let your heart be troubled; believe in God, believe also in Me. In My Father’s house are many dwelling places; if it were not so, I would have told you; for I go to prepare a place for you. If I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself, that where I am, there you may be also.” John 14:1-3 NASB

“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, and into an inheritance that can never perish, spoil or fade. This inheritance is kept in heaven for you.” 1 Peter 1:3-4

For we know that if the earthly tent we live in is destroyed, we have a building from God, an eternal house in heaven, not built by human hands. 2 Corinthians 5:1

Yes, I’m looking forward to heaven where I can see Jesus face to face and all the sorrows of this world will be erased. (Hey, that rhymes. Maybe I’ll write my own song about heaven.)

I’m also looking forward to the Lord saying to me: “Well done, my good and faithful servant.”  (See Matthew 25:21)

That’s what I want to be until the day I die: a good and faithful servant. Oh Lord, help me to do that, and thank You for Your mercy when I mess up.

Heaven is real, and we are going to live on forever. Let’s celebrate that!

Below is the link to the song “Live on Forever” by the Afters. Then there are six more songs—seven in all about heaven. (They say seven is the number of perfection.) Listen if you have the time or inclination.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x9WEj6uLgmM

 

Where I Belong by Building 429

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zplX5FDDuH0

 

“There Will Be A Day” by Jeremy Camp

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gtud5pvF08A

 

“I Can Only Imagine” MercyMe

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Da4fnYIuV9s

 

“I’ll Fly Away” Allison Krause  (Written in 1929 by Albert Brumley)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bcP9Zsaqnck

 

“When We All Get to Heaven” sung by Brad Paisley (Written in 1898 by Eliza E Hewitt)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V–eXiC1LEI

 

“I Bowed on My Knees and Cried Holy” by The Brooklyn Tabernacle Choir

(Also called, I Dreamt of a City Called Glory”)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o2gj_N4i77s

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Heaven Is Real

  1. Joan Lanning says:

    Beautiful….Thanks for sharing Elaine.

  2. Fran Sandin says:

    Elaine, Thank you for reminding us about the beauty of eternity with Jesus. I have two sons awaiting me in Heaven. Knowing they are there has given me peace and comfort, and I am not afraid when it is my time to join them. Jeffrey died at 17 months of bacterial meningitis. Steve passed in 2012 at the age of 43 as a result of complications of cystic fibrosis and kidney failure. He wrote a tract two months before he died called “So What Happens Next?” It causes people to think about their eternal destiny and my husband and I share the tract wherever we go. It reminds us all that Heaven is for real.

    • Dear Fran, Yes, that is another joy of heaven–being reunited with our loved ones. I’m glad your son wrote that tract before he died. I’d love to read it. As for me, sometimes I have a hard time keeping my mind on things that matter for eternity. I’m glad that God reminds me again and again that heaven is our real home.

Leave a Reply

